Pumpkin Coconut Bread

Dear fall, you win.

pumpkin4

I give in to crisp, cool weather.  I give in to the stunning New England foliage. I give in to cozy sweaters and funky boots.

Most of all, I give in to pumpkin baking.

pumpkin1

I usually try to hold out on pumpkin as long as I can, because I always tend to go a little nuts once I start. But when it means I get to make (and eat) stuff like this insanely delicious pumpkin bread…Totally worth it.

What I love about this bread is that it’s SUPER moist. I also threw in some toasted coconut for a little texture and extra flavor, which was fabulous. Why would you ever make regular pumpkin bread??

pumpkin2

Finally, let’s just take a moment to go through all the pumpkin stuff I’ve been making the last few weeks (even if I’ve been too busy to post) and appreciate the obsession sheer number:

Pumpkin Spice Latte knockoffs like this beauty from Handle the Heat. Holy moly. So much better than Starbucks, and surprisingly fast, easy, and cheap.  I think I’m in love.

These cookies from How Sweet It Is. Nothing is better than peanut butter and pumpkin. And in cookie form?? Pure heaven.

And these unbelievable bars from This Gal Cooks. They’re pumpkin blondies with snickerdoodle cookie dough on top. Seriously, stop.

pumpkin3

Fall is wonderful.

Pumpkin Coconut Bread

Adapted from Milk Glass Kitchen

Makes 1 loaf

1/2 cup of vegetable oil

1 cup of granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 cup of canned pumpkin

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/3 cup of water

1 1/2 and 2 tablespoons of flour

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 nutmeg

1/2 cup of shredded, sweetened coconut, toasted until golden brown

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Spray or butter and flour a loaf pan with nonstick spray.

In a large bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, eggs, pumpkin, vanilla extract, and water; set aside.

In a separate, small bowl, use a fork to combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Pour the dry ingredients into the bowl with the wet ingredients, and fold together until almost combined. Add the toasted coconut and stir until the batter is just combined.

Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes before removing the loaf from the pan. Enjoy!

xoxo

Deanna

5 responses to “Pumpkin Coconut Bread

  1. Coconut and pumpkin go so well together and I did not know this until this weekend. Your bread looks so moist, I love it!!

Opinions? Questions? Comments?