Zucchini Apple Bread

I know I pretty much beat banana bread to death on this blog, so today I’ve brought you a change of pace – zucchini bread!

zucchinibread1

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of zucchini bread is a Nancy Drew I read back during my elementary school Nancy Drew obsession stage (in which I read all 56 original books, as well as all the spinoffs). In the book, one of the subplots involves a 6-year-old who has become the terror of the neighborhood by going around and smashing everyone’s zucchini because he hates it so much. In the end, his mother tricks him into eating zucchini bread, which he declares perfectly delicious.

While it was admittedly a little absurd, I can definitely say the same as Nancy Drew for this zucchini bread. I added in lots of fall spices and some shredded apple, which made an unbelievable recipe. Not to mention the way the top caramelized….I’ll definitely be eating it for my breakfast (…and snack…and lunch…and probably dinner) come tomorrow!

zucchinibread2

On the life front, these last two weeks have been CRAZY.

All my extracurricular activities have started up again, which means my down time has decreased….a lot. The time between music rehearsals, 12 hours a week of gymnastics, and clubs is spent doing all my homework, because I decided it was a good idea to take 5 APs (6 academic classes total) senior year. And, any extra seconds are used up working on the many supplement essays for college applications. I’m one busy bee!

zucchinibread3

What all this means, unfortunately, is that I’ve been left with no time for baking! What’s wrong with the world?

I’m happy to say, however, that I did manage to find some time this weekend to make the zucchini apple bread. Since zucchini is in season at the end of the summer and apples start to go in season during early fall, combining the two into a quick bread is the perfect transition from summer into fall. Let’s face it – I’m still not quite ready to say goodbye to summer. I’ll be holding onto my shorts and flip flops as long as I can!

Zucchini Apple Bread

Adapted from Fork Knife Swoon

Makes 1 Loaf

2 large eggs

3/4 cup of canola oil (or vegetable oil)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 cup of shredded zucchini, squeezed to remove liquid (about 1 small zucchini)

1/2 cup of shredded apple, squeezed to remove liquid (about 1 medium sized apple)

1 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour

1 cup of sugar

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Butter or nonstick-spray a loaf pan.

In a large bowl, beat together the eggs, canola oil, and vanilla extract until thoroughly combined. Add the grated zucchini and apple and stir to combine.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet zucchini mixture, stirring until just combined. Don’t overmix!!

Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let the bread cool in the pan on a wire baking rack for 30 minutes. Turn out the loaf and let cool completely on the rack. Enjoy!

xoxo

Deanna

P.S…You should also know I got up at ____ to take pictures for this post. Never say I don’t love you!

3 responses to “Zucchini Apple Bread

  1. This bread sounds delicious! I love that you also added apples in here. Good luck with your full schedule – sounds like you are definitely one busy bee!

  2. Pingback: Zuchinni Bread Meets the Chocolate Chip | whyallthefuss?·

Opinions? Questions? Comments?