Rosemary Black Pepper Dinner Rolls

I’m not going to bore you with stories about how impossible Junior year is. Because we all know I’m being swamped with crazy amounts of work and tests and PSATs and daily Physics pop quizzes and I’m a *little* stressed out.

I’m also not going to bore you by telling you how happy I am that it’s fall, because fall is my absolute favorite season and it means I can eat endless apples, pumpkin pie, and finally break out the cozy sweaters. I definitely wont go into detail about how much I love stepping on crunchy leaves while wearing boots and getting to see the gorgeous red, orange, and yellow New England foliage.

Nope. None of that.

Instead I’m going to tell you all about yeast.

First of all, yeast is tricky. You gotta be super super super patient and willing to take a couple stabs at the recipe before you find doughy perfection.

Stab number one was not too bad, except I may have accidentally killed the yeast with overheated water (whoopsies!). They still tasted pretty darn good, even though they didn’t rise, so I decided to try try again.

Stab number two was a success! They were super fluffy and looked just like the picture, plus the rosemary flavor was heavenly good.

In case you were curious, these are perfect for late night Calc study sessions with your next door neighbor as you both panic about derivatives. It’s an excellent way to kill some stress.

Rosemary Black Pepper Rolls

From Confections of a Foodie Bride

1 package of yeast

1 cup lukewarm water

2 tablespoons of canola oil, plus more for greasing bowl

1 large egg

3 tablespoons of sugar

3 1/4 cups of flour, plus more if needed

1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

2 teaspoons of chopped fresh rosemary OR 1 teaspoon of dried rosemary

2 Tbsp melted butter

Pour the warm water into the bowl of your mixer and sprinkle the yeast over the top. Let sit 10 minutes, or until frothy.

Add the oil, egg, sugar, black pepper, and rosemary to the bowl. Add the flour and mix on medium-low speed with the hook until the dough holds together, adding more flour if necessary. The dough should clean the sides of the bowl.

Increase speed to medium and knead the dough for 5 minutes. Cover the bowl with a towel and let the dough rise for 20 minutes. Next, add the salt and mix the dough on low speed for 1 minute. Move the dough to a large bowl lightly greased with oil. Cover it with the towel and let rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 – 1 1/2 hours.

Grease the bottoms and sides of a 9-inch baking pan.

Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface. Divide the dough into small 2 ounce rolls, if you don’t want to weigh them there should be about 14. Place in the pan about 1/2 – 1 inch apart. Preheat the oven to 350. Cover the pan with a towel and let rise for 20 minutes, or until the rolls have expanded to fill up the pan.

Melt the butter, and brush half of it over the top of the rolls. Bake for 20 to 30 minutes, or until golden brown. After they come out of the oven, immediately brush with melted butter. Best served hot and buttery, right out of the oven 🙂

This is one you definitely want to save for Thanksgiving in a few weeks….

xoxo

Deanna

5 responses to “Rosemary Black Pepper Dinner Rolls

  1. You did a splendid job with those rolls. As one who has gone through the trials of failures with yeast, whether overheated, expired or over proofed, I have learned a lot from my mistakes and have enjoyed making a variety of breads and yeast pastries and by hand kneading or with the faithful dough hook of our Kitchen Aid. I love following your blog!

  2. Oooh those look fabulous! And I agree with Bob–I’ve definitely had a lot of yeast failures. The water temperature is so tricky! I don’t have a thermometer, so I just stick my finger in and if it doesn’t burn me, I use it lol. I’ve found this “perfect rise” yeast brand that really seems to work well for me! What do you use?

    • For these rolls I used Red Star Yeast, but just because that’s what we had in the house. As you can see from my multiple attempts, its not fool proof, but as long as the water isn’t too hot it should do the trick just fine!

  3. Pingback: Ten Terrific Thanksgiving Ideas | DB and Jelly·

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

