Fig and Rosemary Pizza

I love figs.

I usually just eat them plain, because they’re yummy and juicy and sweet, plus they have an awesome shape.

But after seeing the Basil Fig Prosciutto Pizza on Steph’s Bite by Bite, I had to try adding some figs to my pizza! I’m definitely a fan of interesting pizza toppings, and given my adoration for figs, this pizza was happening for lunch.

After a quick run to the grocery store (during which I FORGOT to buy fresh rosemary – do that please) and some kitchen magic, it was ready.

I have to say, adding in the rosemary gave the pizza a really nice touch and helped tie the figs in nicely. The figs themselves were scrumptious, and as my sister described them, “Nature’s sweet pepperoni”!

The crust was super doughy and delicious. Even though I’m usually more of a thin crust gal, it was a nice change of pace. Yum!

Also, I have awesome news! You all know that when I’m not in the kitchen, I’m either doing gymnastics, homework, or sewing. Recently, I’ve been sewing like crazy to stitch up a bunch of handmade laptop cases. They’re all for sale on Etsy and more will be coming soon! Please check it out – they’re well made cases and very fashionable, if I do say so myself. Click the picture for the link!

What a deliciously busy week 🙂

Fig and Rosemary Pizza

Dough recipe adapted from About.com

1 package of instant dry active yeast

1 cup of warm water (not hot!)

1/2 tablespoon sugar

3 cups of bread flour, plus more

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 1/2 teaspoons of salt

For the toppings:

1/2 cup of pizza sacue

3/4 cup of fresh mozzarella cheese, shredded

1 tablespoon of fresh or dried rosemary

3-4 figs, sliced

In a bowl, mix together the yeast, water, sugar, and 1/2 cup of flour. Stir well and let sit for 10 minutes to get bubbly.

Add the olive oil, salt, and the rest of the flour. Mix together until it’s combined, then turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead for about 10 minutes, adding flour when needed, until the dough becomes, soft, elastic, and slightly sticky. Form the dough into a ball and place in a large, oiled bowl. Cover with a towel and let sit until the dough doubles in size, about 1-2 hours. Punch the dough down and divide into two – it will make two pizzas.

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Roll out the pizza dough to between 1/4″ and 1/2″ thick. Spoon tomato sauce over the top evenly, leaving space around the edge as crust. Lay the figs out over the pizza, then sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Top it off by sprinkling rosemary over the pizza. Bake for 10 – 15 minutes, then remove and let cool slightly. Then, slice it up and serve!

It’s pizza time!

xoxo

Deanna

2 responses to “Fig and Rosemary Pizza

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

