Honey Mustard Pasta Salad

Boy, the weather around here has been CRAZY lately! Last week was blazing hot in the 90s (meaning I spent most of it splashing around in my friend’s pool), but this morning I woke up to a very loud thunderstorm. There was an impressive amount of thunder and lightning shaking the house and lighting up my room for about an hour.

After that, I was fully awake. It was a pretty startling alarm clock!

Once lunchtime rolled around, I was upset to find that the selection of leftovers was…dismal. Almost as dismal as the gray, rainy day outside! However, I did find a box of pasta and some veggies. Time to get creative 🙂

This pasta salad is the result of some pretty inventive cooking. The tomato and zucchini are slightly roasted to cook them just enough. It was already 1:00 and my tummy was grumbling for some lunch!

The pasta salad is lightly coated in a homemade honey mustard dressing, so it’s not too oily or greasy or any of those unhappy descriptive words. Another advantage – my now fully-vegetarian sister can eat it because there is no meat or fish to be found. Yum!

In other news, I have been doing a ton of driving! Today I went all the way across town from my gymnastics practice to my sister’s martial arts class. I even took the main roads 🙂

Highways…well I’m not quite ready for that yet! I’ll be sticking to stop lights for now.

Honey Mustard Pasta Salad

Serves 4

1/2 zucchini, sliced and quartered

1/2 tomato, cubed

1/2 box of uncooked pasta

1 teaspoon of honey

1 teaspoon of whole grain mustard

1 tablespoon of olive oil

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Shredded Mozzarella Cheese, optional for garnish

Preheat the oven to 250 F. Place the zucchini and tomato pieces on a baking sheet and roast for 10 minutes on low heat. Remove and let cool.

Meanwhile, fill a large pot with water and bring to a rolling boil. Add the half box of pasta and cook for 8-10 minutes, or until done (taste a piece and decide – some people like it more al dente than others). Strain in a colander, then place in a serving bowl.

For the dressing, whisk together the honey, mustard, and olive oil in a small bowl; set aside.

Add the vegetables to the bowl, then add 1 to 2 tablespoons of the dressing. Stir together with a large wooden spoon, then add salt and pepper to taste. Enjoy with a nice cold glass of ice tea!

P.S…I have a super awesome summer surprise that I’ve been putting a lot of work into lately 🙂 Hopefully it will be ready in a week or so, but you will all be the first to know!

xoxo

Deanna

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

