Balsamic Veggie Sandwich

Only 1 week of school left!

To be exact, it’s really only 3 days. Yesterday was my last day of classes, and today through Friday I have finals. Study study study!

Still, today was a pretty awesome day of finals. I had gym and orchestra. Gym meant 45 minutes of taking a quiz, then hanging out in the cafeteria with my friends. For orchestra, I had to play a solo piece for my teacher, but spent the rest of the time in the lesson hallway with my orchestra friends! The best part? We finish at 12:30, so I got home at 1:00, just in time for lunch 🙂

So, here’s what I made for lunch! SO much better than anything from the icky school cafeteria. It’s a super garlic-y, super veggie filled sandwich. Topped with balsamic and super crunchy, it’s absolutely delicious.

I also (finally!) got my permit! It took 3 tries before I actually made it through the DMV to the test, but I passed the first time 🙂 The picture turned out pretty good too. I’ve already been out driving a couple of times and it’s super fun. A little terrifying, but fun!

It’s kind of strange, but it really doesn’t feel like the end of the year. Either way, I’m very excited for summer!

Balsamic Veggie Sandwich

Makes 2 sandwiches

3 tablespoons of olive oil

2 teaspoons of garlic paste, plus more for dolloping

1/2 zucchini, sliced

4 slices of ciabatta bread

2 small tomatos, sliced

2 teaspoons of balsamic vinegar

In a saucepan, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil. When the oil is hot, add 2 teaspoons of garlic paste and cook until it starts to turn golden brown. Add the zucchini slices and cook until golden brown on both sides. Set aside.

Turn the oven onto broil. Place the slices of bread on a sheet pan. Drizzle the bread with olive oil, and add a small dollop of garlic paste on each slice. Spread the garlic on top of the bread. Put the pan in the oven and toast the bread for 3 minutes.

To assemble, place one slice of bread on a plate, top with zucchini, then tomato, and finally drizzle with balsamic vinegar. Enjoy!

xoxox

Deanna

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

