White Chocolate Strawberry Cookies

Only 1 month until summer vacation!

That means long days filled with relaxing, swimming, friends, and  no school.

Unfortunately, the home stretch is filled with end of the year tests and activities. Say hello to finals, concerts, and LOTS of studying.

Also, say hello to these cookies! The strawberry jam gives it just a hint of fruity flavor, and straining it keeps the texture really smooth. Plus, the mini white chocolate chips are just adorable 🙂

After my bad experience at the DMV yesterday, trust me, I seriously needed cookies. We waited for almost 2 hours before being called up to the counter, where they informed us they would not accept the photocopy of my social security card, and needed the real thing. They have terrible hours too, so the only time I can make it there is on Saturday mornings. It’s only another week of waiting for my permit, but the whole experience was really frustrating.

In good news, a super cool gardening store opened up in town. There’s all sorts of eco related things to buy, along with a big selection of gardening tools and a yummy cafe/coffee bar. I even saw my school principal there! I got a cute little Viola to keep in my room. It’s a green plant, but the center of the leaves are a dark purple color that comes out through the stem. I don’t usually do too well with plants (I went through 3 sunflowers in 6th grade science), but this time I’m determined succeed. This viola will survive!

Gardening, cookies, and the DMV? Pretty productive weekend. Time to sit back, relax, and eat some cookies. Maybe I’ll even do my homework 🙂

One little secret – see the milk in that glass? I really can’t stand milk, but I didn’t want to waste a whole glass of it, so I got my little sister to drink it for me. Siblings are so useful!

White Chocolate Strawberry Cookies

Adapted from The Colossal Cookie Cookbook

1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon of baking soda

Pinch of salt

2/3 cup of granulated sugar

1/2 cup of butter

1 egg

1/3 cup of strained strawberry jam

1/2 cup of mini white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 300 F. Grease a baking sheet or line with a silpat.

Sift the flour, baking soda, and salt into a bowl; set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat together the sugar and butter until fluffy and light. Add the egg, then the strained jam. Mix in the flour mixture and white chocolate chips until combined.

Spoon tablespoons of the dough onto the baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Remove, let cool, and enjoy!

P.S…These taste REALLY good with ice cream sandwiched inside. Just a suggestion 🙂

Deanna

2 responses to “White Chocolate Strawberry Cookies

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

