Speedy French Toast

My weekday mornings are always a bit of a blur.

After a long afternoon of homework, gymnastics, viola and (if I’m lucky!) baking, I want to maximize my sleep time as much as possible to be energized for the next day.

Which means… I get up as late as possible and have to move pretty fast in order to catch the 7:00 bus. Me = not a morning person.

I’ve also discovered my best energy breakfast. Whenever I have french toast before a big event, I always seem to do better than when I have a rather unexciting bowl of cereal. Unfortunately, on school morning I really just don’t have time to wait for the 10 minute soaking period needed for most french toast recipes using brioche or challah.

This french toast, unlike most, is FAST. We’re talking 5 minutes, on the table and eating. The secret is in the bread – by using cinnamon swirl bread, which isn’t absorbant at all, you can completely eliminate the soaking time. Just dip it in the egg mixture,and pop it in the pan. I can’t even tell you how much I love this.

At 6:30 in the morning, it’s pretty fantastic. Not to mention, it’s WAY yummier than boring old oatmeal or eggs. Speedy French Toast

Serves 1

2 slices of cinnamon swirl bread

1 egg

1/4 cup of milk

1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon of allspice

1 tablespoon of butter

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, vanilla extract, and allspice. Heat a frying pan on the stove. Once it’s hot, add the butter and spread it around the pan as it melts. When the pan is super hot, dip the bread in the liquid, being sure to cover it completely. Place the soaked bread in the pan, and cook until it’s golden brown on both sides. Remove from heat and top as desired with fresh fruit, whipped cream, jam, peanut butter, or syrup. Enjoy!

I will be making this again on Friday as my pre-AP test breakfast. If any food can help me pass, it’s this!

xo,

Deanna

2 responses to “Speedy French Toast

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

