Raspberry Coconut Muffins

These muffins have been a while in the making (sorry about that…), and for two major reasons.

Reason 1: Lets face it – baking doesn’t always go well. Sometimes the batter is too wet, sometimes you use salt instead of sugar, and sometimes…you add WAYYY too much baking soda.

I have a bit of a history with adding too much baking soda. Usually I just mix it up with baking powder, but this time I took a different route and accidentally put in 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons. In case you just so happened to be curious, tripling the amount of baking soda results in salty, chalky, and overall just disgusting muffins.

Reason 2: It’s that time of year again…

I’m sure you’re all familiar with the typical end of school year chaos. In the next 2 months, I have finals, SAT II Subject Tests, an AP test, concerts, extra rehearsals, and Confirmation! Basically, I’ve been spending this week and most of the weekend studying my head off for my AP US History final and AP test. 300 years of American history to memorize by tomorrow…fun.

I took some time off from obsessive studying to redeem my muffin making skills. This time around I tried making my own recipe for Raspberry Coconut Muffins. Success! They were delicious, fluffy, and best of all – I added the perfect amount of baking soda!

I also used a scale so that I would have more accurate measurements. As I learned from my best friend Rayna‘s mother, who just graduated culinary school, 1 cup of flour can have a huge difference in mass depending on how you measure it. That’s why most professional bakers use a scale when they bake – so that all of their goods come out consistent.

Up until recently, I used an old postage scale, but this lovely glass scale from Rayna’s mom makes me feel like a expert baker. The official Food Network apron I got a few years ago doesn’t hurt either… 🙂

Raspberry Coconut Muffins

6 ounces of all purpose flour

4 ounces of whole wheat flour

1.5 ounces of shredded sweetened coconut

1 teapsoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/2 cup of butter

5 ounces of sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of buttermilk

3/4 – 1 cup of fresh raspberries

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a muffin tray with cupcake liners or spray with nonstick spray.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flours, coconut, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the egg and vanilla extract, stirring to combine. Stir in the buttermilk.

Add the dry ingredients to the bowl with the wet ingredients. Mix together until almost combined. Stir in the raspberries.

Use an ice cream scoop to measure out equal amounts of batter into each muffin tin. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Enjoy!

xoxo

Deanna

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

