Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Rosemary

Yesterday was one of those super crazy days that you just have to love and hate at the same time.

I was super excited for the gymnastics state championships, which I’ve been training for all season. It was also the last and biggest meet of the season, so everyone was pumped up and wanted to do really well.

I woke up early and promptly realized I had the beginnings of a sore throat, which is always the first sign for me that I’m getting sick. Luckily my meet was at 8:00 in the morning, before I really started feeling icky, so I was able to go out and have a great performance.

At the meet, I met all of my self planned goals for the day.

1. Have no falls – I stayed on for all my routines…score!

2. Get at least a 7.0 on bars – I got a 7.2 🙂

3. Do a perfect backhandspring on beam – Stuck it solid after weeeeeks of practice.

Overall, it was a really good meet. I even placed 3rd on two events! Our team was fantastic too, and I’m super proud of all my teammates. Love these girls!

The only downside to the meet happened during my bar warmup. I stretched a little too much going into my dismount and hit the whole front of my foot on the bar. At first I passed it off for a bruise, but when I showed my coach after I finished my routine, she told me to go get ice right away. When I sat down to ice it, my foot was purple and very swollen. Uh oh!

After awards and pictures (…and of course ice cream), my mom drove me to the hospital to get it x-rayed. Lucky for me, it wasn’t broken, and the non-broken bones in my foot looked pretty darn cool on the x-ray picture.

Later, after quite a bit of icing my foot, my whole family drove down to New Jersey for dinner. It was really nice seeing everyone, and I met a super awesome little baker who made some delicious fudgy brownies. Even though I wasn’t feeling great, I still had a good time.

Also, I recently discovered this majorly yummy recipe for gnocchi with brown butter sauce. They’re fluffy and chewy, and I absolutely love the distinctive flavor the rosemary adds to the sauce. It may not be the most healthy dinner (hello brown butter!), but it definitely works quite well as a carbo load for the day before your big competition.

Gnocchi in brown butter sauce, several cups of tea, ice for my foot, some tissues, cold medicine, and a couple of medals! What else could you ask for in one weekend?

Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Rosemary

Adapted from the Food Network Magazine

Kosher salt

3 large russet potatoes

1 to 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

1 large egg

6 tablespoons of salted butter

1 tablespoon of finely chopped fresh rosemary

Parmesan cheese, for topping

Place the potatoes in the microwave and heat on high for 5 minutes (or until soft) to cook. Let sit until cool enough to handle.

Halve the potatoes lengthwise and scoop the flesh into a potato ricer. Discard the skin. Press the flesh through the ricer onto a floured cutting board and let cool for a few more minutes.

Spread the potatoes out slightly. Beat the egg with 1/2 teaspoon of salt in a small bowl, and drizzle over the potatoes.

Sprinkle the potato mixture with 1 cup of flour and knead until a smooth dough forms, adding up to 1/2 cup more flour if the dough is too sticky. Cover the dough with a kitchen towel and let rest for 10 minutes.

Re-flour your surface. Divide the dough into 6 pieces and roll into logs about 1/2 inch in diameter. Cut into 1/2 to 1 inch lengths with a bench cutter or knife (I used a pizza cutter and it worked great). Transfer the dough bits to a baking sheet and dust with flour.

To make the sauce, melt the butter in a large skillet over high heat. Cook until the butter develops brown flecks and smells nutty. Remove from heat once done – don’t let the butter burn!

Bring a large pot of water to boil. Add the gnocchi; wait till they float to the surface, then let simmer for 30 more seconds. Scoop the gnocchi out with a slotted spoon and transfer to the skillet. Cook until the flecks stick to the gnocchi, then add the rosemary and a few tablespoons of the cooking water. Remove from heat and serve, garnishing with cheese. Enjoy!

xoxo

Deanna

P.S…Thanks to Mrs. K for the amazing pictures!

2 responses to “Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Rosemary

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

