Oatmeal Fun, Part 1

These next two posts are going to make you feel great inside and out, all using the wonderful powers of oatmeal! There are SO many great uses for oatmeal, and I recently tested out a few that I’m excited to say turned out especially well.

I’ll be the first one to admit that my breakfast routine is kinda boring. Cereal and almond milk is certainly not the most exciting breakfast on the planet, but it’s better than many of my friends who skip the most important meal of the day.

On a side note, I absolutely, positively, hate milk. It’s one of the few foods I really despise, and I haven’t liked it since I was a very little kid. A few years ago I started drinking almond and soy milk instead, and I love it! The unsweetened almond milk is great because it lets me eat cereal without forcing the abominable milk or excessively sugary flavored varieties into my beloved breakfast.

Anyways, most school mornings I only have about 10 minutes for breakfast, so I have to eat something nutritious and filling so that I can last up till even my latest lunch 5 and a half hours later.

This super yummy granola from Carrots N’ Cake is the perfect addition to my not so exciting cereal – just enough to kick up the flavor and crunch factor without going too overboard for my sleep-deprived high school self at 6:30 in the morning.

Plus, I can make it the night before and feel like I’ve had a part in creating my breakfast without having to get up even more ridiculously early for actual cooking. Hurray!

The granola was super crunchy (maybe because I over baked it a little…whoops) and I absolutely loved the flavor of the toasted coconut. This is definitely a new morning favorite!

Homemade Granola

Adapted from Carrots N’ Cake

1 cup of dry oats

1/2 cup of almonds

1/3 cup of shredded (I used sweetened) coconut

1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed meal

3 tablespoons of agave nectar (you can use honey instead if you don’t have any)

1 tablespoon of canola oil

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Place the oats, almonds, coconut, flaxseed, oil, and agave nectar together in a bowl. Stir until the oil and agave are fully mixed in. Spread the mixture out evenly onto a baking sheet lined with a Silpat or sprayed with non-stick spray. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until the granola is light brown and crunchy. Happily eat with yogurt or milk.

Part 2 coming soon!

xoxo

Deanna

5 responses to “Oatmeal Fun, Part 1

  1. I wished you were a student at my school this week. In honor of the Hunger Games, the library hosted our own Hungry Games, featuring a cupcake baking competition. There were 25 participants and some impressively elaborately decoated, exceedingly yummy-looking entrants. I know you could have baked a winner!

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal Fun, Part 2 | DB and Jelly·

  3. Pingback: Granola 2.0 | DB and Jelly·

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

