Pumpkin Spice Tea Lattes

I usually don’t spend much time outside during my crazy weekdays, so I was surprised when I looked outside and saw that the trees were starting to change color! The Northeast is known for its beautiful fall foliage, and based off this morning, I think that more colored leaves definitely are on their way. Woohoo!

My favorite place to see fall foliage is in Rhinebeck, New York, during the annual sheep and wool festival.

You see, back in the day (meaning middle school), I was hugely into knitting. I would make sweaters, socks, bags, you name it. So once I heard about the festival, I absolutely had to go.

And once I went, I had to go back.

It was knitter’s heaven.

There are hundreds of booths, selling everything from carding to yarn to sweaters to books to needles. There’s also a building with all sorts of free samples of food, including what my mom called the best pickles she’s ever had. So fun 🙂

When we went two years ago, there was a little yarn stand selling the softest yarn I had ever seen in my whole entire life. Even better, they were selling hats made from the yarn. Unfortunately, the heaven hat was $52, which my parents considered a little excessive for a hat.

I spent the next two years dreaming of the hat made from the greatest yarn ever. So when we went back to the festival this year, I was on the hunt. I immediately recognized the building with the stand when we found it, and narrowed in on the stall in less than 10 seconds. Inside, I found the YARN OF MY DREAMS for $26. It was a stretch, but we bought it, making me a happy, happy, happy baker/knitter 🙂

Anyways, this is the incredibly long story to explain why it’s taken me the entire weekend to finish a post. I did plenty of cooking, but spent way more time (sorry!) working on my glorious hat. Here it is!

Also in the fall spirit, I made the delicious pumpkin spice syrup from Steph’s Bite by Bite, one of my favorite blogs. Her recipe is used to make Pumpkin Spice Lattes – the coffee version. If you aren’t much of a coffee person, then I would highly recommend making Pumpkin Spice Tea Lattes.

Yeah, that’s right. Pumpkin Spice TEA Lattes. It has all the same flavors as Starbucks’s fabulous Pumpkin Spice Lattes, like cinnamon, allspice, and ginger. Drool. The only difference is that this version is made without the coffee, which means a whole lot less caffeine. Yum!

There’s a remote possibility I drank 3 cups of this tea today. Just sayin’.

Pumpkin Spice Tea Latte

Adapted from Steph’s Bite by Bite

Makes 1 tea latte

1 Pumpkin Spice teabag (I used Bigelow)

1 cup of water

1 tablespoon of Pumpkin Spice Syrup

1/4 cup of milk

Place a teabag in a large mug, heat 1 cup of water until boiling, and pour over the teabag. Let the tea steep for 2-4 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the milk and pumpkin spice syrup in a microwave safe bowl for 60-90 seconds in the microwave. Remove, and whisk until frothy. Pour into the mug with the tea. Stir to mix thouroughly, and enjoy!

Seriously, what could be better than drinking this tea while wearing this hat?

Deanna

4 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Tea Lattes

  1. FINALLY! I was thinking your knitting needles were getting all lonely and dust-covered and sad…they must be very happy now. Can I borrow the hat sometime?

    Um, is the yarn actually called, “Yarn of My Dreams,” or…is it not…?

  2. Pingback: Best Pancakes Ever | DB and Jelly·

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

