Maple Cinnamon Chip Scones

I have a confession to make.

I think I might be secretly British.

Why, you ask? There are two reasons.

One is my obsession with tea. I drink at least a cup or two every day. I bring my own teabags to school.  It’s delicious warmth and herbal soothing-ness always makes me feel better. And I also buy way too many Chai tea lattes at Starbucks.

The other reason is my obsession with scones. Fluffy, golden brown, perfect-match-for-my-beloved-tea scones. I eat them for breakfast, snack, and dessert: really any time I can get my hands on them.

These scones are especially light and fluffy, and I love the hint of maple you taste along with the sweet cinnamon chips. The flavor combination is warm and comforting, and perfect for fall or winter. I highly recomend eating them with a large mug of Chai tea.

Maple Cinnamon Chip Scones are also really fast and easy to whip up, so I was able to find time to make them during my super busy afternoons.

So go get yourself some tea, whip these scones up, and bask in their British glory. If you want to fake an accent, I won’t judge 🙂

Maple Cinnamon Chip Scones

Adapted from Food Network

Makes 12 scones

1 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour

1/2 cup of whole-wheat flour

1/2 cup of oats

1 tablespoon of baking powder

1 tablespoon of sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of cold unsalted butter, diced

1/4 cup of cold buttermilk

1/4 cup of pure maple syrup (make sure you use the pure-it will give the scones such a better flavor)

2 eggs

1/2 – 3/4 cup of cinnamon chips

Preheat the oven to 400 F. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.

In bowl in the electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the flours, oats, baking powder, sugar, and salt. With the mixer on slow, add the chunks of butter and mix until the batter resembles small crumbs.

In a small bowl, stir together the buttermilk, eggs, and maple syrup. Add immediately to the flour and butter mixture, and put the mixer on low to combine. When it’s almost completely combined, add the cinnamon chips and continue mixing until the batter has just come together. It will be sticky!

Use an ice cream scoop to measure out equally sized scones, and place each scone on the baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart. Press lightly on the top of each scone to flatten slightly. Bake for 17-20 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown. Enjoy!

Deanna

6 responses to “Maple Cinnamon Chip Scones

  1. GO SCONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m loving the picture of the scones arranged in the heart shape…you have got to do that with desserts and other treats more often.

  2. This post reminds me of my younger brother. He loves scones. Actually he loves pastries in general, but to him a great scone means the best morning ever.

  3. Pingback: Oatmeal Fun, Part 2 | DB and Jelly·

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

