More from California

After arriving very early this morning, I am officially back from California and ready to share the rest of the stories and food from the second half of our vacation! For those who missed the last post on my California vacation, you can find the link right here.

After our super fun time in Montecito and Santa Barbara, we headed down to Glendale. You know how they always say you can follow your nose to find an adventure? It’s completely true. During a short walk through downtown Glendale, we saw everyone carrying bags and boxes from the same bakery. When we turned onto the next block, it was obvious that we’d found it. You could smell the delicious baked goods all the way down the street! We had discovered Porto’s, a delicious Cuban bakery stocked with every pastry and dessert imaginable. If you’re remotely in the area, it’s absolutely worth the visit.

On Tuesday we went food truck hunting! After watching the Great Food Truck Race last year on Food Network, I was really excited to go and find my favorite food truck from the show, Nom Nom. They serve bahn mi, Vietnamese sandwiches filled with meat and vegetables. I got the Grilled Pork Bahn Mi, and it was amazingly juicy and flavorful. There were several trucks set up in the same lot, so we also got to try some food from Uncle Lau’s Island BBQ. I didn’t have the chance to taste their tacos (my dad said they were really good though!), but they made the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever had. They fry them right there for you on the truck, and they come out super hot and crispy! Food trucks are a really fun and interesting way to find a meal or snack.

We also spent a few days at Disneyland, where the food can be very good when you know where to go. My favorite was the Fried Green Tomato Sandwich I found in Critter Country. There’s also really good ice cream on Main Street for all you ice cream fanatics out there 🙂 With my food loving eagle eye, I noticed a small garden growing right outside the Buzz Lightyear ride in Tomorrowland. The only two I recognized were sage and rainbow chard, but there was a lot more stuff growing there. What a strange and totally awesome place to put a garden.

On our last day, we visited the Long Beach Aquarium of the Pacific and went to an Anaheim Angels Baseball Game with my cousin. In case anybody is curious, that was the Angels vs. Orioles game that went into 12 innings. Did you know that whenever someone hits a homerun, they set off fireworks? It was really cool and made the game much more interesting. We left just before the end of the game and got to see the Disney fireworks from the highway before stopping at Yogurtland for dessert. They have a really cute Sanrio advertisement going on right now, so we know have quite a collection of Hello Kitty spoons 🙂

I’m excited to be back and can’t wait to get baking!

Deanna

2 responses to “More from California

  1. My gosh, I love the Great Food Truck Race! I’ve only seen this year’s, though. It’s so coooooooool…

    Those food places look AMAZING!

Opinions? Questions? Comments?

